Notices

Hello

Old 10-12-2011, 02:16 AM
FitDay Member

Default Hello

Hi!

I'm new to FitDay, but I started increasing my exercise and counting calories last week. Since I was 15 my weight has yo-yo'd between 165 and 265 pounds. Right now I'm at a very heavy point (258 pounds), and I'd like to get back down to around 180. I usually don't have any problems actually losing weight (because I have a home gym and I'm good about logging my calories). My problem is maintaining my weight once I reach my goal.

My recent weight explosion was due to a medication. Earlier this year my doctor put me on antidepressants, which lead to a weight gain of about 30 pounds in two months!!! It turns out my depression was actually related to a hormone imbalance and I didn't even need the antidepressants. Now I need to lose that 30 on top of the 50 I already needed to lose.

I've been looking through the forums a bit, and this seems like a friendly place, which is encouraging. I spent some time on PeerTrainer, and I absolutely hated it. It seemed like most people there endorse only a raw vegan diet and cleanses, which certainly aren't for me. There were also too many people in the forums who were there to only put down the fat people and make them feel worse!!!

I do have a question though for people who are more in-the-know. I am 5'9", which means my "normal" BMI is between 125 and 169 pounds. However, when I was 165 pounds I looked so skinny that people thought I was sick. I'm naturally curvy, and at that weight my bones were sticking out and I didn't like the way I looked. I'm aiming for 180 pounds, which is a BMI of about 26.5. Even though that is technically overweight, I feel that is the right weight for me. Does anyone else feel that the BMI chart is just totally inaccurate for their body?

Thanks, and it's good to be here!
Old 10-12-2011, 02:52 AM
FitDay Member

Hi Kitttty ... Welcome to Fitday!