Notices

Weight loss Supplements?

Old 01-22-2011, 05:22 PM
FitDay Member

Default Weight loss Supplements?

Okay I'm not talking about "diet pills" here, and nothing gimmicky or dangerous. But does anyone know of any decent nutritional supplements (ie vitamins) that are known to boost fat metabolism, suppress appetite, and all that jazz? I suppose I could just google it, but there's a LOT of bad info out there. I thought I'd ask here to cut out all the crap advertisements and get input from someone with a little real experience.

I've heard that taking B vitamins, chromium, and a few others that escape me at the moment, can help with energy and fat loss. Any advice on what and what not take?

Thanks.
Old 01-23-2011, 12:26 AM
FitDay Premium Member

So what is it you're really trying to accomplish?

It seems like you're off to a pretty good start. Are you looking for faster loss?

From my reading, and I'll be the first to admit that I'm not an expert, the only way to REALLY increase your metabolic rate is to increase your muscle mass.

There are some substances, like caffein, that purportedly temporarily increase your calorie burn.

I really don't think there are any substance or compounds that can really make you lose fat more quickly (boy would I like to find one--I'd retire immediatly!). There is a multi-billion dollar industry out there that say there is, but most have all sorts of disclaimers.

That's my .02. If you want to lose faster, reconsider your daily calorie deficeit. If you want to increase your metabolic rate, hit the gym (and yes, I need to take my own advice ).

Regards,
Michael
Old 01-23-2011, 06:30 AM
FitDay Member

Oh I'm totally happy with my weight loss so far. This was mostly for informational purposes. In my previous diet adventures I always start off so well, but somewhere after the first couple of weeks I stall like crazy. Just wondering if there's anything out there that can help give that little extra help.

Thanks for your time.