Notices
Like Tree29Likes

The Official Unisex 100+ Pounds to Lose Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 12:34 AM
FitDay Premium Member

Originally Posted by biggerbones
I stopped smoking 7 years ago and started eating instead. But figured if I could stop smoking, I should be able to control my eating as well. It's not been as easy as I thought. Everything tasted so good and I am an outstanding cook! LOL! I'm up to 268 and I feel awful. I need to lose 120 pounds to get into the BMI for my age and height. I want to be able to take a walk with my grandkids without gasping for breath. I'm going to do this one day at a time but my goal is 120 pounds gone by my youngest child's graduation from college..May 2013.
I've always felt that an addiction to food or overeating is probably the worst addiction one can have. One can quit tobacco, one can quit drugs, one can quit alcohol, but one cannot quit eating. Us folks with food addictions are sort of living like alcoholics who must have one drink daily, yet not go off the wagon--not an easy task!

But, with logging one's food and a desire to drop the weight (and maintain thereafter) it can be done and there are lots of folks here who have done it. Please stick around and let us know how you're doing.

Regards,
Michael
Old 02-13-2012, 05:33 AM
FitDay Member

Thank you Michael. You're absolutely right. Food is my addiction and my escape. I'm going to do this one day at a time and I'll keep you posted.
Old 02-22-2012, 08:49 PM
FitDay Member

Default Tentively putting my toe back in the water...

Hello.. I've been gone for far too long again and failing miserably too. *Hangs head in shame.*

It pains me to admit that starting from 298lbs, getting down to 223.5lbs, and then going back up to 290lbs. But I need to get it all out so I can get over it, put my chin up and start over.

I started over 4 weeks ago, and my current weight is 283lbs. I've set myself a very realistic goal of reaching 250lbs by my holiday abroad in September.