Notices

Calories consumed

Old 01-28-2010, 05:19 PM
FitDay Member

Im no expert but I try to follow the "Biggest Loser" rules and tips etc. After all, they should know what they´re doing! If you don´t want to buy any of the books (which I highly recommend though) you can take a look at this page for some guidelines:
'The Biggest Loser' Diet

If you want to lose weight in a more normal way so to speak you should eat around 2280 kcal a day. If you want to lose weight biggest loser style you should eat about 1950 kcal a day (and also exercise 4-6 hours a day!!!)

Good Luck
Old 01-29-2010, 09:54 PM
FitDay Member

Daily weigh-ins can be discouraging. YO-YOing drives everyone crazy.

Many years ago I read ...Weigh-in weekly and measure weekly. That has worked much better for me.
Old 01-30-2010, 02:52 AM
FitDay Member

Originally Posted by kathietaylor
She also gave me crap for eating too few calories!! She says I should eat 1600, when I am eating between 1200 - 1400!! She says I am going to become exhausted both mentally and physically if I don't up my calorie intake AND my body will start burning muscle mass to make up for the deficit!!

I don't know what to make of that.
Well, I don't buy into the whole no adult should eat more than 2000 calories thing, but this last part about your caloric intake looks like good advice, Kathie.

Your body doesn't just burn muscle mass when it doesn't get enough fuel - it takes from your organs and bones, too! Your brain only runs on glucose - or ketone bodies as fuel (if it's forced to.) Ketone bodies are formed when your body is metabolizing protein for fuel because there aren't sufficient carbohydrate sources available. That protein will either come from your food or your body (or both.) It places stress on your body and is counter-productive to the stoked metabolism that will help you meet your goals.