Notices

Old 10-01-2010, 03:20 AM
FitDay Member

Default **newbie

Hello,
i am new to site and was wondering if any one has some tips for me i am about 5'5 weight about 155 and i HATE to exercise however i am joining the gym TOMORROW however i will 30 in November and i want to get back down to what i normally weigh around 120-125... just was wondering what time of workouts i should so how many what kinds and all... aslo any suggestions for foods what to eat and not to eat i must admit my downfall is SODA i love mountain dew its like i have to have it!!!! i know i will have to let this go so any information will be GREAT thanks so much!!!!!!!!!!
Old 10-01-2010, 04:25 AM
FitDay Member

My brother switched from regular coke to diet coke and shed 15 pounds in a month. But it would probably be better to make improvements in your diet, like eliminate white foods (white sugar, white flour, white potatoes etc etc), stick to whole grains when you eat grains, buy fresh fruits and veggies and use them as snacks rather than whatever is in the vending machine...

I guess if you HATE to workout, I would recommend you look for other ways to get yourself moving, like maybe a yoga class, salsa dancing, rock climbing etc etc, something fun that doesn't feel like exercise. I've discovered that I really like to walk, it doesn't feel like exercise to me, so I never mind going.
Old 10-01-2010, 05:04 AM
FitDay Member

I do 45 minutes to an hour of moderate intensity cardio a day (bike and treadmill (varying amounts of time on each)) and lift weights 3 days a week.

About 60 minutes a day on 4-5 days/week seem to be recommended by the American Council for Exercise and the American Council for Sports Medicine for weight loss. Although, IMO, "some" is better then none if you can't hit this mark for some reason - you'll work up to it quickly if you are otherwise healthy.

Do some strength training. IMO, it is at least as important as the cardio for weight loss and long-term maintenance.