Notices

workout routines?

Old 09-16-2010, 02:25 PM
FitDay Member

Question workout routines?

Hi there, I'm semi new to this site. I'm on week 3 of my new healthy lifestyle and so far I lost 8 lbs!!! I'm very new to working out on a regular basis so I don't know where to start as far as a routine...what to do each day, and for how long.

As of now I'm atleast walking everyday for no less than 2 miles. (walking on even surface I can do for ever, my legs go in neutral mode) I've tried jogging but can't go very far at a single time, although i think I'll really enjoy jogging. I'll jog for a certain distance...maybe 40-50 yards then walk, and jog some more. I do plenty of stretches before and after...but along with walking/jogging I also do other exercises "beginners" pushups, jumping jacks, get in push up position and hold for 30 seconds, relax and repeat, squats, lunges, arm and leg curls, stair stepping, etc. I don't do all of them each and every day, but mix up my day quite a bit. When I do them, I do them in numbered reps, rest then repeat 3-4 times.

My question is how much of what am I suppost to do a day as a beginner. I'm 28, 5'8" and need to loose 100lbs. And how many days a week do I exercise? Monday I did a lot of squats and walking and my legs were feeling it a lot the next 2 days...I could hardly sit down cause of it. When that happens do I need to rest those muscles for a certain period of time, or work through them as long as it's not pain and just muscle burn?

Unfortunatly I don't have the $ now for a gym membership or trainer, but I'm good at making due with things around my environment at home, park or elsewhere. Fortunatly at our bike path that goes for atleast 100 miles...there's an outdoor gym for the public to use and has about 8 machines to use. So I take advantage of that also.

This turned out to be a long post, but any advice would be greatly appreciated! I'm also curious as to what your routines are, and how you started out!