FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   Support group for just women (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/support-group-just-women/)
-   -   7-Day Motivational Thread Starting 8/27/12 (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/support-group-just-women/8133-7-day-motivational-thread-starting-8-27-12-a.html)

Hunny24 08-30-2012 08:18 PM

Mern - I am probably not consuming enough calories. I run, lift weights and do a few other things so I know I am burning enough. I think I might just have to add in a small snack or two of veggies or nuts in order to get things back on track. Thanks for the ideas! BTW, my b-day was on the 24th. :)

Mern 08-30-2012 11:48 PM

Thursday Report

I'm giving myself a B+ for effort yesterday. But I had a harder time working out a "goal achieving" menu due to my agreement with my doc yesterday to work on raising my calories to over 1200. Problem while I'm still learning how to do it is increasing my calories and lowering my sat fat percentages without increasing my fixed carbs. I used to add mono unsaturated fats to reduce my percentage of saturated fat, but the diet guidelines stress that monounsaturated fats are consumed INSTEAD of sat fat, not in addition to sat fat. I used to add more lean meat or fish (zero carb) to reach my calorie minimum if I had already reached my carb limit, but on this diet I can have only 5 oz. total of meat, fish, or poultry per day. I spent a lot of time yesterday pre-logging and juggling foods and portion sizes and just couldn't find the right combination of foods to get over 1200 calories and reach my fat targets, so my fat is high. I have an appointment with a dietitian Oct. 24, so until then I will be doing some self-help web surfing to learn more about food choices to reach my goals and formulating reasonable modifications to my TLC diet.

Calorie limit 1500: 1088, 1293, 1169, 1273 (Average so far is 1206 calories)