Notices

Extremely obese... scared for my future baby

Old 04-01-2010, 07:58 PM
FitDay Member

Default Extremely obese... scared for my future baby

Well, I am extremely obese (275 lbs and 5'4"). I am a college student and while I love working out and cooking healthy meals, I cannot always fit my workout into my schedule, let alone cook a (cheap) healthy meal.

My fiance and I are getting married at the end of summer, and we want to start our family almost immediately (I am going to med school and am taking a year off between bach and med so its kind of perfect)... but I am terrified of gaining EVEN MORE weight and that I will hurt my child or my baby will suffer because of my problems. Any advice? I plan on trying to lose weight (2lbs a week) and getting down to "just obese" (lol) by the time we conceive and maybe continuing the same exercise regimen and follow a calorie count given by my doctor...

Really I am just looking for advice or maybe resounding "you should adopt/ give up on children" shouts...
Thanks
Old 04-01-2010, 10:21 PM
FitDay Member

Hi Slavetodairy,

Welcome to the forum! Congratulations on your upcoming graduation and your decision to enter med school! Marraige, med school, and raising a family--you are going to be one busy lady. I admire your ambition.

Although concern for your future child's wellbeing is a priority, you are equally a priority as well. Your post sounds like you are a bit ambivalent about your decision to become pregnant so my question to you is: why the rush?

As to your decision to change your lifestyle, tracking your nutrition and exercise on fitday is a great tool. Many of us on this forum have made a lot of progress and I'm sure you will too. Also giving and receiving support on any of the threads is a very helpful--there are many supportive women of all ages here! Best wishes as you strive to become more healthy and fit!
Old 04-01-2010, 10:29 PM
FitDay Member

Originally Posted by Built
Hi Slavetodairy,