Notices

Grams or percentages, please help

Old 03-23-2010, 01:07 PM
FitDay Member

Default Grams or percentages, please help

I am new to carb counting and just trying to find my way by reading several sites on carb counting. I am entering my food each day on Fitday, however I am still not sure if I should be counting grams or looking at the persentage of carbs vs fat and calories. I am diabetic and need to lose about 70 lbs.

I have been eating low carb below 40grams each day for about 3 weeks now. I have had a dramatic drop in my blood sugar which is great but not losing any weight. I am drinking 8 glasses of water per day. Am I eating too many carbs?

Typical day:
Breakfast: 2 eggs, 2 pieces turkey bacon
snack: 1 0z. cheese
lunch: shrimp 4 oz or chicken with green salad 1.5 cups and 2 tbsp dressing
snack: 12 almonds or cheese or hummus and celery
Dinner: chicken stirfry with broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage
snack: 2 Breton low fat crackers with peanutbutter or cheese

Last edited by mission_lady; 03-23-2010 at 01:09 PM. Reason: spelling errors
Old 03-25-2010, 08:49 AM
FitDay Member

I've just answered a very simmilar question so please forgive my reluctance to type it all out again. Here's the link instead:

http://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums....html#post6716

And to specificly adress your sample daily diet.... eat more fat. You'll feel fuller and "fat free" stuff is loaded with sugars.

Best of luck,
~ Willow
Old 03-25-2010, 01:59 PM
FitDay Member

Thank you Willow, I will look at the sites you recommend. I need to start losing and who would think eating more fat could help.
Old 03-27-2010, 12:47 AM
FitDay Member