Notices

colon health

Old 08-03-2012, 07:06 AM
FitDay Member

Angry colon health

Hi, newbie here.
I just had my first colonoscopy (baseline at 50) . I was SURE that it would be clean and with no complications whatsoever. I do not meet any of the risk factors for colon issues. I eat very health consciously, mostly fresh fruits and vegetables, very little meat. I have even recently tried to cut out/down on wheat products and dairy and feel better for it. However, my colonoscopy revealed two very small polyps, which the doctor removed, and a bit of diverticulosis. I was shocked! They said it was "normal" and I have to wait for the pathology report, but I don't get it. Now, for the next two weeks I have to eat low fiber, soft (and mostly processed) food! Has anyone else had this experience and do you have any advice? Thanks
Old 08-03-2012, 08:17 AM
FitDay Member

Hi ive been thinking myself of going to the doctors about my bowels. I was diagnosed with IBS about 5 years ago when i was at my biggest. I had examinations etc because i noticed blood.
Since losing my weight and completely changing my lifestyle and diet to a healthy one i still have problems when going and ask myself why.
The past couple of months though it just feels like- how can i put this- it feels like its sgot really narrow down there and when i feel like im trying to pass something that i struggle its only something quite small.
Ive not heard of polyps or diverticulosis. Sorry i cant give you any advice on the matter but i do understand the frustration when we are eating the right things for our bodies. Well done on going to the gp too- these things can be embarrassing to talk about and face up to when it comes to intrusive tests.
Old 08-04-2012, 04:37 AM
Super Moderator

Red face