Notices

Sodium Sensitivity & Water Retention

Old 02-24-2010, 11:57 AM
FitDay Member

Unhappy Sodium Sensitivity & Water Retention

I'm relatively new to Fitday, and I'm grateful for the fact that it helps me track nutrients in addition to fun stuff like calories. Now the sodium...::sigh::

One of the things I've realized is just how sensitive my body is to high sodium. I had no idea! Even on days when my calorie balance/deficit is superb, if my sodium is high, seems like I retain more water than the darned Hoover Dam! (And btw, this is true regardless of the "time of the month" it is.) I can wake up the following morning, pee, etc. and when I weigh myself...boom, 2 additional pounds. Once my sodium is back down below the recommended 1500mg for a couple days, then it goes back to normal.

Anyone else find that they're this sodium sensitive? Although it's easy to keep my calories, proteins, & fats in check, sodium is a big struggle for me to watch. Maybe it's because, as an American, I'm so used to prepared foods and frozen meals (even skinny chic names like frozen "Smart Ones" or fat free hot dogs) that pack in sodium that I don't realize the significance. Anyone else have this problem? How do you cut sodium without sacrificing taste?
Old 02-24-2010, 03:58 PM
FitDay Member

There has been more and more products coming out sodium free now...I tend to buy those more and then add my own salt to my dishes. Ive also learned to eat my veggies and meat without salt but I do up the herbs and spices when I cook.
Old 02-25-2010, 04:13 AM
FitDay Member

Count in another hover dam here. I never realized until I was on the 6-week body make over program how much so. on that i can't eat anything with additional sodium. so naturally occuring sodium was fine but anything like canned tomatores sodium free. i'm the same as you eat to much sodium & i hang onto water like i'll die without it...lol. nothing to do with time of month for me either.
Old 02-25-2010, 02:26 PM
FitDay Member