Notices

Sluggish metabolism after baby... :-(

Old 06-05-2011, 10:04 AM
FitDay Member

Default Sluggish metabolism after baby... :-(

Hi guys! I am a 40 yo mom trying to lose baby weight. My background is I have always had weight issues & had gastric bypass back in 2003 & lost 111 lbs. I am 5' 8" and got down to the 180s & then pretty much stayed there although I have yo-yo'd somewhat. At 39 I underwent IVF & had baby #2 (my 1st son was 14 yo at the time). Neither of my pregnancies were easy & although my 1st pg I only gained 15 lbs I did have gest. diabetes. This time no diabetes but severely anemic. I gained 25+ lbs but I don't know how much total b/c I swelled up bad the last month & quit weighing myself. Here's the kicker- both babies I breastfed & both I gained weight AFTER having baby. After this one I was within about 15 lbs of my prepregnancy weight & then I started packing it on. I am now 30+ lbs from my prepregnancy weight. I tried dieting a few months ago & used fitday & after 5 weeks of less than 1500/day I only lost about six pounds & was very discouraged. Plus I gained it back in just a few days! The pregnancy did leave me very vitamin deficient (iron & D) & I have been working very hard to bring my levels back up. I am also making an effort to do some type of daily exercise to help rev my metabolism.....drinking lots of water....my diet is high protien, low simple carb, moderate fat, less than 1500 cal per day. I think I am doing the right things but mostly I need to know 1)I am not crazy for thinking having a baby messed with my already wonky metabolism, & 2) just need some sympathy/support. So if you have read all the way through this post-Thank You! & if you have any suggestions for me I welcome them
Old 06-06-2011, 08:22 AM
Super Moderator

Lightbulb