Notices

Foot in a cast, no excercise, no work

Old 04-27-2011, 01:22 AM
FitDay Member

Default Foot in a cast, no excercise, no work

So for the next month I will be pretty sedentary, its going to be hard to keep the weight off with no excercise or work. I don't really excercise much other than walking, but I have an extremely physical job. The reason I am in a cast is because I had bunion surgery on my foot, this all so I can start running again, and partly from vanity, will be nice to wear regular width shoes. I had the other foot done last year and it looks amazing. On a possitive note I can't carry any food from the fridge or cupboard and manouver the crutches so maybe not excercising won't be a problem because I can't graze. If anyone is considering this surgery please feel free to ask me anything, I am an old pro now and have had the best and worse possible surgical situations so consider myself quite the expert. My 9 year old neice is going to be needing Bunion surgery very soon, which is very unusual for a child her age, I will only give her the good news and keep the horror story to myself. Sorry if I am rambling, I am on some great pain killers and I am bored out of my mind.
Old 04-27-2011, 01:30 AM
FitDay Member

Sorry to hear that you're laid up with a bum foot. I had knee surgery years ago and I was the same way, bored out of my mind and all smacked up on drugs. Are you getting any PT? When I've had PT in the past, I usually was able to get the therapist to give me pointers about a full body workout. And if you have some hand weights you could work on upper body, you might as well since you're going to be giving those arms/shoulders a workout anyway. I knew a guy in college that was missing a leg, he had a great upper body because every step he took was on crutches. Then he got a prosthetic leg he had to start lifting weights to maintain all those beautiful muscles.
Old 04-27-2011, 02:02 AM
FitDay Member