Notices

100 lb club

Old 03-16-2010, 08:54 AM
FitDay Member

Default new to fitday...sort of

Hi all:

I joined fitday in 2007 at 267 and I'm here to try again. Today is the second day of my commitment to diet and exercise so I can get healthy. I weighed in yesterday at 271 (and I'm only 5'2"!) even though I was as low as 219 in 2008.

So why do I say I'm new? I've never used the forums before and I'm hoping that checking in here will help me (and maybe others) in reaching my goals. I've been reading the posts and I think this is a GREAT thread and hope I'll find some support and suggestions. I am going low-carb since that seems to help me lose weight, but I'm also trying to exercise daily.

Already I did a dance video from Netflix yesterday and was down 3 lbs (water I'm sure) when I weighed in this morning. Today I hope to go swimming (I'm in Miami) and already I need suggestions with my first hurdle:

I'm going to a dinner party tomorrow and I know the menu...breaded/fried steak, fried plantains, bread & butter, rice & beans. I'm thinking I'll offer to bring a salad and I'll scrape some of the breading off and hopefully no one will be too suspicious. I hate to say I'm on a diet when I've failed so many times before, and I certainly don't want all the well intentioned (and often useless) advice I know comes with it.

Any suggestions are welcome and just general salutations in support would be wonderful.

Thanks all!
Belle
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
BelkysCompressed.jpg (75.9 KB, 16 views)
Old 03-16-2010, 01:37 PM
FitDay Member

Originally Posted by speedyfair
Good Morning

Great going almeeker. It was a great idea to substitute an activity for the brunch, maybe treat yourself and make a healthy omelet at home to satisfy that craving. I use two egg whites to one egg yolk and tons of veggies with a little cheese- yum!

Everyone have a great day!