Notices

New to forums

Old 03-02-2011, 03:29 AM
FitDay Member

Default New to forums

Hi all!!

I'm not new to FitDay, but I am to the forums. I have been using the logs on this site sporadically for over 2 years. I am 39 and really want to lose weight and get into shape before I turn 40 (7 months away). At my heaviest I was 200. I lost 25 of it last year and have since gained some back. I am now at 182 so I have a ways to go to reach my goal of 150.

I'm not on any diet plan. I don't really eat unhealthy. I don't care for sweets (except my soda) so thats not the problem. I simply overeat. When I started tracking my calories I couldn't believe how much I was taking in. It was definetly an eye opener. I have now started preparing my meals a week in advance. They are already portioned so all I have to do is grab a bag and go. Breakfast, lunch, dinner & snacks.....hopefully this will help with my over indulging. I have cut out the soda as well Only drinking water or water with crystal light.

As far as exercise goes I'm trying to get back into running. I have always been a runner, but these past few years I have done nothing so I'm starting from scratch. I have a couple of different goals with this. First is to run a 5K in June. I did one last June and really enjoyed it (even though I walked most of it). From there I want to work up and by next summer be able to run my first 1/2 marathon. Figure if I start now that I should be able to do it.

Its hard starting over again and thats what I feel like I'm doing. How could I let myself get like this? Hopefully while I'm figuring that out I can do something about it and get this weight off.

Anyways, I just wanted to say Hi and introduce myself.
Old 03-02-2011, 03:35 AM
Super Moderator

welcome to FitDay! Are you a drag racer???

It sounds like you are doing well so far. Good luck on your 5k. Have you tried the C25K (couch 2 5k)program?
Old 03-02-2011, 03:43 AM
FitDay Member