Notices

I don't want to fail at this again!

Old 10-15-2010, 05:38 AM
FitDay Member

Default I don't want to fail at this again!

Hi Ladies,

I need some help in knowing how all of you stick with this! I really want to make lifestyle changes, but sticking with them is difficult for me. I live in downtown Seattle, so I try to walk more often than drive, and I do have a gym membership that I am trying to fit in more often – but that is a mental challenge more than a physical one!

Here is what I have going now. I eat the same thing for breakfast and lunch almost every day, and I try to keep the calorie consumption right around the 1,500 mark give or take a splurge with dinner. My current plan is to hit the gym after work 3 days a week (I am a student as well and have night classes that keep me from going every day).

My husband doesn’t sabotage my efforts, but he isn’t particularly supportive – possibly because I’ve gone hard core about wanting to make changes before, and never really stuck with them for more than a week or two. I have serious weaknesses for desserts in the evenings, and find it difficult to pass up happy hour out at the pubs with friends but I know I will eat greasy foods and drink way too many empty calories. (I love good dark beer and a really good sidecar or vodka gimlet)

Nothing is impossible, and changes can be made – but I’d love to know what has worked for you! One thing that I haven’t tried before is reaching out to others for help. Thanks in advance for anything you can pass on
Old 10-15-2010, 06:37 AM
FitDay Member

Hi and welcome to the board! Perhaps the weight watchers point centered diet may help you make some choices in your lifestyle change. I have not gone that route but I have a couple friends on it and they love it.. one drinks also and refused to give up her alcohol and because she can figure it in her daily point allowance, she manages to do it to a satisfactory compromise.