Notices

Fat prejudice in Health Care

Old 02-04-2012, 05:45 PM
FitDay Member

Default Fat prejudice in Health Care

I'm a health professional and have had a few bad run-ins with doctors who seem to think that being overweight means you are also stupid. I've looked into this and discovered there are many, many people who have had doctors ignore their actual problems in lieu of telling them to lose weight. While acknowledging that there is a place for weight loss, I'm appalled at the implication that an overweight person must lose weight before other problems are taken seriously.
Happily, top public health programs have begun to study fat prejudice and how it interferes with care. If anyone feels like sharing experiences, I'd love to hear them, as well as any insights you have as to how it affected your own behavior and health.
Old 02-04-2012, 07:23 PM
Super Moderator

Unfortunately the doctors are probably right in many cases. Being overweight can have many affects on a persons overall health. Often times weightloss can turn around so many problems such as depression, stress, issues with many vital organs including the heart, bad cholesterol, blood sugar, aches & pains, sexual problems, etc, etc.

There's a reason why the obese cost the health industry more than people of a normal BMI. Same reason why a persons build is factored into life insurance premiums. A heavier person is more likely to have health issues that could affect their life span than that same person with a healthy BMI.

I DON'T think that doctors put enough emphasis on weight control. Being overweight has become "the norm" and is real epidemic in our society. People are living longer because of the advancement in medicine, not because they are taking better care of themselves. There is a drug to help many issues because it's easier to take a pill than it is to take responsibility for our weight.

Last edited by 01gt4.6; 02-04-2012 at 07:26 PM.
Old 02-04-2012, 09:35 PM
FitDay Member

Default Wow.