FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   Off-Topic (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/off-topic/)
-   -   an apple a day... (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/off-topic/3529-apple-day.html)

01gt4.6 02-25-2011 09:09 AM

an apple a day...

We all have probably heard the saying "An apple a day keeps the doctor away."

I'm just sitting eating my apple and was thinking about back in the day, when I was a produce manager. Back then I didn't eat nearly the amount of fruit or veggies that I eat now. Anyway... back to the apple, I was wondering what everyones favorite apple is, and why.

I've tried many and must say that my favorite is a Gala apple. It's a firm, crisp apple (I can't stand a mealy apple) with a very sweet taste. Back in my Produce Mgr days it use to crack me up to see how many people would buy a Red Not-So-Delicious apple. It was by far the most popular. So what do you like?

almeeker 02-25-2011 09:16 AM

Depends on what I'm doing with the apple. If I'm just going to eat it, I like Gala, Golden Delicious, Honeycrisp or Courtland. If I'm going to make apple pie or apple crisp, it's Granny Smith or Winesap. If I'm making applesauce it's a combination of Courtland and Johnathan. If I'm making apple butter it's Courtland or Yellow Delicious.

01gt4.6 02-25-2011 09:26 AM

I've never had a Courtland. Granny Smith does make a good apple pie. mmmm

RunbikeSki 02-25-2011 11:55 AM

Honeycrisp, hands down.

Did you know that it is the first, and only, patented apple? It's got a great backstory if you have time to look it up.

cjohnson728 02-25-2011 03:50 PM

I like Gala apples too, for the readily available variety, but when we go to the orchard to get freshed-picked, I like Braeburn for eating, Hampshire for cooking.

Mark999 02-25-2011 07:36 PM