FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   Newcomers (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/newcomers/)
-   -   day 1 today (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/newcomers/9206-day-1-today.html)

gilliwilli 02-24-2013 09:47 PM

day 1 today

Hi
I am new to fitday and wanted to introduce myself. I am diabetic but not on any medication for this. In order to keep my blood sugar levels low and to lose weight, I have began a low carb diet. This is great for my blood levels but the weight doesn't want to let go. Hoping to get inspiration and advice from forum members and hopefully reach my goals.

gilliwilli
:)

carolynnq 02-25-2013 03:35 AM

Welcome, Gilli. If you're on a low-carb diet, losing weight should follow. Once you start tracking your food and exercise, you'll see if you're eating more or less calories than you're burning each day.

I was following the South Beach Diet (low carb) when my 85-year-old mother (diabetic for 25 years, and had recently had a stroke) came to live with us. When she lived my herself and at the nursing home, her sugar levels had been all over the place and up into the 300s. Eating the low carb diet almost immediately got her sugar levels under control. The visiting nurse who came wanted to send me to live with her other diabetic patients! When I took her for her check-up with her doctor, the blood test that shows sugar levels for the past several months was in the normal range for the first time ever. She remained on insulin, but at a greatly reduced rate. Just telling you this to show that diet really can make a difference.

gilliwilli 02-25-2013 08:19 AM