FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   Newcomers (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/newcomers/)
-   -   Thin, athletic girl trapped in the fat body of a 41 year old (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/newcomers/14816-thin-athletic-girl-trapped-fat-body-41-year-old.html)

courtneyespence 12-30-2016 03:02 AM

Thin, athletic girl trapped in the fat body of a 41 year old

I'm 41, divorced, mother of a 10 and 12 year olds. I was always athletic in my youth - swim team, karate, softball, track and always outside riding my bike, playing kickball and pick-up football games with the neighborhood boys. I went to college on a softball scholarship and played all 4 years. I was always very thin - in fact - I started HS at 4'10" and 90 lbs and was 5'5" and 115 lbs when I graduated. I grew 2 more inches after the first year of college and was at a healthy weight of 125 at the end of the year. I ate somewhat unhealthy but I was also active each day, conditioning and running and lifting weights for softball. I graduated at 140lbs. Considering my build and my active lifestyle it was a very healthy weight. I have always appeared far lighter than my weight would have you guess (I'm dense, I suppose).

Fast forward from 1997 to today - A marriage of almost 15 years ended, 2 kids, a move out of state with no support system in place and was forced into fulltime employment for the first time in nearly 10 years (I was a stay at home mom). I now weigh 251 lbs (in an 18W), have severe obstructive and central sleep apnea, a diagnosis of bipolar disorder, a history of kidney problems, arthritis is creeping in from the years of being active and I fractured my ankle in September and am still recovering from that. I have a stressful, unfulfilling job, no family close-by to offer help and an ex that wants to play games when it comes to custody of our children.