Community
Notices

New and feeling down

Old 12-06-2014, 10:35 AM
FitDay Member

Unhappy New and feeling down

Hi everyone. I'm new to the whole 'weight-loss scene' and am in need of some help.

I only just started cause the other day I got on the scales for a weight measurement so I could get a dress for an event and thought- 'Ahhhhhh what the f*** is that number doing there.' And then burst out in tears... I've always been larger but never did anything about it and ignored the problem (that was the first time I've been weighed in 3 years).

I've decided to change now before it's too late, so that's some progress at least, but I can't help feeling like I am getting more and more depressed with each day. By the time a month has passed I think I will not even see the point in getting up in the morning. I've tried doing the things I love (drawing, reading, being with my pets, being with friends and writing etc.). However I just don't get any enjoyment anymore because I'm so panicked about my size.

Does anyone have any advice on what I can do to boost my mood??
Old 12-06-2014, 12:31 PM
FitDay Member

Perhaps I can help.

I am what you would refer to as "too late." Last June/July, after looking at the outrageous numbers on my "broken" scale and moving to a 4X in clothing, I had a heart attack.

My best advice is to stop focusing on the number and start challenging yourself. Walk. Daily.
I started with only walking down my driveway and back. I added a little each day. Now I am up to 2 1/2 miles alternating days.

Change your food habits one at a time. I had to change salt and sugar. Not that I used a lot, but they are in everything. Record your food intake.
Yes, some days you will make mistakes and overstep your limits, but when you are writing it down, you are aware.

Join us for weigh in. If you don't feel comfortable with disclosing the numbers, join us in the weekly motivational thread. More the merrier.
Old 12-31-2014, 05:01 PM
FitDay Member