Notices

Grocery shopping list?

Old 11-24-2011, 10:46 AM
FitDay Member

Default Grocery shopping list?

So I plan on going grocery shopping this weekend for next week's meals and I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions on how to get on track with what to buy, how to organize that list, plan my meals, etc. I am totally new to this and have to take control of my diet before it gets too late.
Old 11-24-2011, 01:36 PM
FitDay Member

Originally Posted by Angus_The_Assassin
So I plan on going grocery shopping this weekend for next week's meals and I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions on how to get on track with what to buy, how to organize that list, plan my meals, etc. I am totally new to this and have to take control of my diet before it gets too late.
Try at least one new vegetable (I recommend Kohlrabi, if you're not already familiar with it).

Winter squash, like butternut is good and low calorie.

If it were summer, I'd recommend melons, like cantaloupe or honeydew, not sure if they are on sale right now.

Radishes are extremely low in calories, and can be baked or added to soups or replace potatoes in many recipes.

Cabbage (Savoy is the best tasting, the red/purple cabbage is also a nice change) is very low in calories, even sauerkraut is great over fat free or light weiners.

You can buy really low calorie soups in the soup aisle, look for ones that are 50 or 60 calories per serving. They are kind of brothy and low on bulk but what you do is add vegetables to them to fill them out.

I've had a lot of luck with healthy choice and lean cuisine frozen dinners as one meal a day (just try to get ones under 310 calories, some of them are pretty high in calories, but there are select varieties which are good).

Starkist Tuna in water is low in calories. I make a sandwich with it (no mayo, just bread and tuna). Canned crab meat is also low in calories.

Eggs are low calorie, like 80 a piece, and are a whole food. I usually eat 2 at a time boiled.