FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   FitDay Classic Feedback and Support (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/fitday-classic-feedback-support/)
-   -   To: Site Manager -- Does "Lifestyle" activity include sleep? (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/fitday-classic-feedback-support/2905-site-manager-does-lifestyle-activity-include-sleep.html)

cjohnson728 03-03-2011 11:51 AM

Same here.

mecompco 03-03-2011 11:57 AM

I'll add one more vote to add it in, as I do.

Regards,
Michael

tanguera8 04-24-2011 09:05 AM

sleeping?

I'm new to this - only logging in for a week. I just noticed that one of the activity options is "sleeping". When I log this in for 8 hours, obviously the calorie count for the day drops significantly. Does everyone log in their sleep time? What determines the base calorie line? Does that already include sleeping? Thanks for un-confusing me!

mecompco 04-24-2011 10:04 AM

Welcome to FitDay and the forums!

We've been told that the "lifestyle" calculation includes 8 hours of sleep. Nevertheless, many of us include 8 hours of sleep in our daily activities to bring down the calorie burn a bit. I find that when I do this my actual weight loss is pretty close to what FitDay predicts.

Regards,
Michael

Vicky67 06-21-2011 09:10 PM

Do we enter night sleep as an 'activity'?

Do we record the hours spent in bed at night as 'sleep' in our activity log or has this already been accounted for in our lifestyle baseline?

mecompco 06-22-2011 01:06 AM

The official word is that eight hour of sleep ARE figured in to the "lifestyle".

However, many of us, myself included, do add eight hours of sleep as it seems to make our daily calorie burn come out closer to "reality".

Everyone is different and metabolic calorie burn is, at best, an estimate so you may have to do some "tweaking" to get yours set accurately.

Regards,
Michael

Newlee11 07-14-2011 07:41 AM