Notices

Consider custom portion sizes for custom foods?

Old 01-05-2011, 08:46 AM
FitDay Member

Default Consider custom portion sizes for custom foods?

I wanted to create a custom food that represented a single Hershey's kiss. That way, I could just count the candies and enter the number to get the right nutritional information for however many Kisses I ate.

However, serving, grams, kg, ounces, and lbs. were the only available choices for measures. I would have liked an "each" option, or better yet, a fillable field that would have let me enter ANY unit - standard or not. I ended up creating the custom food for the serving size of 9 recommended on the package, and then specifying a quantity of 0.56 to represent the 5 candies I had.

I'm no programmer, but this sounds like it could be easy to implement! I hope so!
Old 01-05-2011, 11:23 AM
FitDay Premium Member

How odd! Are you using the PC version, perhaps, instead of the regular web-based version of FitDay?

When I create a custom food the only choice is "serving", so it would be no problem to add a single "Kiss".

Regards,
Michael
Old 01-05-2011, 01:17 PM
Super Moderator

Originally Posted by mecompco
How odd! Are you using the PC version, perhaps, instead of the regular web-based version of FitDay?

When I create a custom food the only choice is "serving", so it would be no problem to add a single "Kiss".

Regards,
Michael
that's what I do as well on certain items.
Old 01-06-2011, 02:56 AM
FitDay Member

I'm using the online version. If you do a search for a food, then find one, then select "customize this food" then you can choose between the different portion size options that were offered for that particular food. If you select "create a custom food" then "serving" is your only choice.