Notices

Beginner at jogging

Old 03-28-2012, 11:57 AM
FitDay Member

Default Beginner at jogging

I have wanted to become a runner for quite some time. However, I am so intimidated by it. I have begun to walk six miles a day and am hoping that this will get me in enough shape to be able to jog half of it. I was just looking for some words of advice since I am starting out.
Also there is a 5K in my hometown this September. Is it unreasonable to think that if I begin now I might be able to participate? Thanks.
Old 03-28-2012, 02:13 PM
FitDay Member

Couch to 5K-Best program on the web.
Start incorporating some jogging into your walks now. There really is not much carry-over between walking and jogging/running. You use the leg muscles in different ways and you don't have to deal with impact forces when walking.

Doing a 5K in Sept. is very doable, even a 10K is not out of the question.
Good luck.
Old 03-28-2012, 04:09 PM
FitDay Member

Shannon,

I am pretty new to jogging also- just the last couple of weeks in fact. I have never purposefully jogged before and never thought I would, but I want to increase my calorie burn so decided to go for it.

When I started exercising I started by walking on a treadmill at a low 3.0-3.5 pace for an hour. To start with I was walking about 2 miles. I gradually increased my pace until I was walking at 4.1 and was walking 4 miles in an hour. I needed to get my endurance level up because I had not been active for so long.