Notices

What motivates you?

Old 01-24-2012, 01:31 AM
FitDay Member

Default What motivates you?

Sorry if this has been posted before but just thought it might be interesting to find out what motivate us all.

For me it is several things.
1)I'm not happy with the way i look in the mirror and as i grow older the weight is slowly going up and i need to put and end to that.
2) I am a nurse and I see everyday the results of not being healthy. I want to live a long and health life so I need to eat right and exercise.
3) And this is probably the biggest motivator for me is I love to scuba dive. I do what is referred to as technical diving, where we go much deeper than the average recreational diver and in this process our bodies are exposed to the stresses of decompression. Decompression Illness or Decompression Sickness otherwise know as "the bends" is tricky in that we really don't have a handle on it yet. We know sometimes why people get DCS and some basic parameters but at other times people get bent when we don't know why. Cardiovascular fitness and low body fat is believed to help the body decompress most effectively. So for me staying fit helps me to do what i love safely.

So what motivates you?
Old 01-25-2012, 09:13 AM
FitDay Member

Hi Kimbur ~

Motivating Factors for me:

#1. Physical Health ~ Lab results were not good for me 12/11. High triglycerides, Low HDL & High LDL, and indication of heading toward "pre-diabetes". Thyroid level not the best either. I want to 1st see what I can do before taking meds. With heart hx & Diabatic hx in both sides of my family, this has put the fire under my pants, so to speak.

#2. Low Energy ~ I'm tired of being tired. Could be partly thyroid, but anything I can do should help for the better. I hope that as I change blood levels will be more what they should be.