Notices

Foods that heal muscles AFTER exercise

Old 09-05-2011, 07:45 AM
FitDay Member

Thumbs up Foods that heal muscles AFTER exercise

I've never done a post workout meal before, one that is targeted at recovery. But then again, I'm taking my exercise very seriously these days and have decided to call it "training" instead.

I've never even thought about a post workout meal before. Until yesterday.

I've come across some information that has made my post 4 mile walk/run/jog today a joy instead of the usual pain. I put into practice not only my standard pre-run/pre-bike breakfast, but today I have proof that a post training meal as described below actually worked wonders for me. I've NEVER felt so energetic, so fresh in my life after a workout.

Please share your thoughts on this topic, especially if you've got some other suggestions. I'm looking to workout 6 days a week and it looks like the only way my body will ever tolerate that much exercise is to be steadfast in adhering to a good post training meal.

Here's the referenced material:

Foods to Heal Muscles After Exercise

No matter the sport or form of exercise, great demand and stress is put on the body's muscles, more than likely resulting in some form of muscular breakdown or damage. When you're finished with a workout or a game, there is no reason to walk around sore and fatigued when the right nutritional recovery knowledge is available.

Carbohydrates and Protein