Notices

Best exercise for fat burn

Old 04-06-2011, 09:38 PM
FitDay Member

Smile Best exercise for fat burn

Hello,
I am new to fit day and i'm keen to get you guys' opinons on the kind of work outs im doing!
Im 18 and after realising that no longer can i do no exercise and eat what i want Ive started a new lifestyle plan.
Im 11.7 stone, which is about 73kg and 163 pounds i think, but Im not happy with my body atall and the layers of fat that cover my abs, legs and arms really arent welcome anymore!
Im around 5'8
So far im eating around 1600 calories a day but doing 500 calorie workouts in the form of interval training on the treadmill, 5 minutes on the rowing machine, 5 minutes on the bike, ab exercises and a little bit of free weights on the arms.
Do i need to up my calorie intake to 2000 to make sure i hit around 1500 calories a day?
Im a complete begginner so please be nice if i am talking complete utter nonsense right now
And does anyone have any tips or advice on the best workout for fat burn?
Thanks in advance
Old 04-06-2011, 11:02 PM
FitDay Member

Hi Elley,

Your interval workouts are a good choice. Anything that gets your heart rate up and keeps it there is good. If you enjoy it so that you stay with it over the long term so much the better. Your free weight workout is a good choice, you definitely want to add muscle, along with the obvious benefits, muscle burns more calories than fat so you'll be turning your fab body into a calorie and fat burning furnace! Good luck!
Old 04-07-2011, 05:20 AM
FitDay Member

2,000 sounds high to me. If 1,600 is meeting your nutritional needs and you're dropping weight with it, I wouldn't up it. Well you can up it once in a while, but not as a baseline. I try and keep my deficit 500-1000 calories per day and my intake around 1,500, but I'm shorter and older.