FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   Diets (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/diets/)
-   -   Is keto good for your health (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/diets/27402-keto-good-your-health.html)

Amyyjo 07-16-2019 08:48 PM

Is keto good for your health

I should have posted it on here but I was wondering what kind of diets or food choices would be good for sense I lose weight a want to maintain it and not gain.

dfk101 08-21-2019 01:36 AM

This may be a late response to your question. But I have been doing KETO for over two years now. There is a lot of talk back and forth about the value of the KETO diet. Here is my 2 cents worth.
Prior to starting the diet I weighed 216 lbs, male, 52 years old, 5'10" and terribly type 2 diabetic with an A1C of 8.2 since January 2000. My Doctor, because of my habits, was unable to get my numbers into good territory and was threatening insulin shots as the only way to subdue my blood sugar, cholesterol, triglycerides etc. After reading about KETO and having tried Atkins, South Beach, Eades diets on and off for years, I decided to give it a try. Within 3 months I lost 20 lbs. I was thrilled but wanted some confirmation if it was doing any good. I got my full round of blood tests. EVERYTHING dropped, while still using my medication. But they dropped so far that they took me off blood pressure meds, lowered my statin dose, and weakened my blood sugar medication. 6 months later I had lost another 15 lbs and they weakened my statin and blood sugar meds further. 1 year later they completely removed me from all medication. So in less than 2 years I was able to revert to normal what I was unable to do for 16 years.