Notices

No white stuff and counting calories?

Old 08-08-2010, 07:00 AM
FitDay Member

Default No white stuff and counting calories?

I'm new to Fitday and the forums. I keep flip flopping from one diet plan to the next and it's driving me nuts. So, I've decided to simply count calories, and stay away from white stuff.

That being said, that doesn't mean I'll be eating tons of low fat pudding cups or aspartame sweetened low fat, skim milk yogurts. My goal is to eat as wholesome as possible, using stevia as a sweetener. No one is perfect, and I don't expect myself to be - as I have my favorite snacks that I want to incorporate into my diet (popcorn, sunflower seeds, etc) and not everything will be organic (can't afford it), and not processed or packaged. Point is, I am going to try my best.

Being hypothyroid, do you think that I am being too easy on myself? Is extreme low carb (atkins) really a way to go? Is a calorie,,, really just a calorie?

Does the saying "less calories in and more calories spent equal weight loss" REALLY work?

I know that everyone is different... but in general, what do you guys think? I just dont want to be wasting my time. I need to get healthier and get some of this weight off.
Old 08-08-2010, 09:45 AM
FitDay Member

I am trying to figure it out myself... I thought that spending more calories than I was eating could be enough but eventually my body adapts to the decreased intake if I don't go below a certain kcal/day. And I also noticed that my weight loss stops if I eat carbs for dinner, but maybe it's just me. I agree with you though that whatever diet I do I always count calories.
Old 08-08-2010, 10:21 AM
FitDay Member

Well I'm not sure how accurate this is, but along with being easy to break down into sugars (processed carbs), I've heard that carbs also absorb alot of water, thus a huge initial weight loss when u first start out with a low carb diet because your letting go of alot of water as well.

Who knows.