Notices

Need to lose over 100 pounds and need help doing so!

Old 04-22-2010, 01:25 AM
FitDay Member

Default Need to lose over 100 pounds and need help doing so!

Hey all,

I am a 33 yr old female, 5'6 weighting 250.50 pounds. My end goal is to get to 140 since my range is 155-124. I have a big build so I think 124 is rediculous for me.

I am so tired of caring around this extra weight and seeing the scales go up everytime I get on them. I am scared because I can not afford to get any bigger.

I am not good at diets but I am trying. I have been on all sorts of diets even Berstein so my metabolism is probably shot.

I will need any help I can get regarding the food part since I am working out 5 days a week on my lunch for 45 mins now.

I look forward to hearing about you,
Christine
Old 04-22-2010, 02:09 AM
FitDay Member

Hi! Well, I'm no expert but I think you should stop watching the scale. First, because watching your weight is probably stressing you out and, while exercise relieves stress, people are more likely to gain weight when they're stressed or feeling any type of negative emotion really. Secondly, you're probably going to gain weight before you lose it because muscle weighs more than fat.
Which moves us on to working out. Women don't naturally gain bulky muscle, so no worries about looking like a body builder. Muscle is very important, because your metabolism will speed up as you gain it. And it will also give you a nice toned look, which is what separates...exotic dancers from regular skinny people.
As for food, don't diet! Diets are hard to stick to, usually not meant to be long term, and just no fun in general. What's more important is making sure you get what you need. If you're used to eating a lot, dieting may also hurt your progress. If you eat more, your body is used to getting more. Cutting it off suddenly will send your body into starvation mode and your body will hoard everything it gets instead.