FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   Weight Loss Tips (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/weight-loss-tips/)
-   -   Question about losing body fat (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/weight-loss-tips/406-question-about-losing-body-fat.html)

vpinata 02-12-2010 11:44 AM

Question about losing body fat

Hey guys!
I'm new to fitday.com and I think it's great. I'm actually not overweight, I'm just trying to be in top form!:D I'm trying to reduce my body fat from about 21% to 15% (which is how I had it 1 1/2 year ago) In tracking my food, I noticed that everything is pretty balanced on the pie chart as far as protein, carbs, and fat. I was wondering though, if I want to lose body fat, should I reduce the amount of fat I'm eating and have more protein and carbs or what?? I workout about three times a week, weight lifting and cardio together. The fat I get is usually from nuts and my guilty pleasure..peanut butter:o Any advice would really help!!

verociousjay 02-14-2010 06:08 AM

Hi,

I recommend reading this: The carb myth part 1: Why “fat-free” can still make you fat :: stumptuous.com - it's got a lot of good tips for how to eat to lose body fat.

In short: eat more protein and more fat, and cut back on your carbs. 40f/40p/20c is a ratio a lot of people use. Eating less carbs will allow your body to begin ketosis, which basically means that you will burn fat for energy and not store the carbs you eat as more fat.

More protein is especially important if you're lifting, because it will help your body build more muscle.

Hope this helps!

vpinata 02-15-2010 05:40 PM

Yes! Thanks so much, I already started cutting back on carbs, so it's good to know I'm on the right track :) thank you!

bobbys89 03-01-2010 06:36 AM