Notices

Basal Metabolic Rate and Starvation Mode?

Old 04-08-2011, 08:32 AM
FitDay Member

Default new to fitday.

Hi, i am new to fitday, it's almost oone week. I am not new to the weight battle. I have cut my calorie intake to about 1200 cal. I have been so hungry and craving fast food so much this week that it is almost unbearable. I have not encountered this before during other attempts. I want to push through for a couple of weeks at this calorie count. I am working out almost every day, at what I'd say is a moderate level. (jogging, boxing, weights, walking.) Should I increase my calorie count a little or stay the course?
Old 04-10-2011, 02:27 AM
FitDay Member

Keat,

I felt the same way at first, but I am very open with my caloric intake as long as it prevents me from binge eating. For example I say I'll keep a balance between 1200 and 1400. This way on days I feel I need to eat a little more to prevent me from eating I have that open window for an additional healthy snack. If you're feeling too hungry though, then maybe you should consider upping your caloric intake just a little, maybe to 1400 until you adjust.

Before I cut my calories I was easily eating about 2500-3000 a day. Sad. But I cut it to 1500 first, then brought it down to 1200-1400 where most days I stayed around 1400, and then last week I was able to bring it down to 1200. Give your stomach time to shrink too. A sudden drop can cause extreme hunger when you're not use to eating such a smaller amount of food. Record what you eat, count calories, and find that point where you're not hungry but you're not full either. Just pleasantly satisfied enough to stop eating more. It took me practice, but now my efforts are paying off, and I'm even able to eat a grilled chicken salad and be full for several hours. Before a salad would have been an appitizer to an appitizer before a meal lol