Notices

Has anyone gotten rid of the after pregnancy belly?

Old 05-12-2010, 03:35 PM
FitDay Member

Default Has anyone gotten rid of the after pregnancy belly?

Hey, I am new to fitday and I just had twins a year ago. I am done breastfeeding now, so I figure it is time to really get rid of this pregnancy belly!! So has anyone on here had twins or even just a really big baby that stretched out your stomach? I was 130 before I got pregnant and I am 141 now, but I can't for the life of me tone my stomach!!

Right now I am doing 30 minutes of aerobics / cardio every day and toning 2-3 times a week. I am eating about 1700 calories a day. I would love to hear advice or success stories!
Old 05-13-2010, 11:33 AM
FitDay Member

I have not achieved success on the belly front either. I have a lot of curvature to my spine, so my abs have always been an issue, but my second child really did a number on my belly. I started at 182, am now 154 and am shooting for 135-ish. I do a half hour of cardio, half hour of weight machines twice a week, plus yoga and pilates at least once a week, adding some walking in now that the weather is nicer. I am trying to increase the Pilates as well. My boy will be 2 in just a few weeks. I still don't have any definition to speak of, but I am finally just starting to notice increased muscle strength in that area. I'm afraid nothing short of surgery will fix the problem, and I just don't think I want to do that. Maybe if I make and maintain 135 and am still not happy, I'll consider it. At least I'm finally able to wear a normal shirt again, I was still wearing most of my maternity tops for the extra fabric. I think the belly just looks that much bigger if my shirt is too tight.

If anyone else has won the battle of the bulge, I'd love to hear from you too. But you definitely aren't alone!
Old 05-13-2010, 01:23 PM
FitDay Member