Notices

New

Old 01-24-2010, 02:44 AM
FitDay Member

Unhappy New

So I am new to this whole thing. I have just hit rock bottom with my weight and feeling like crap. I am 5'10" and 220 pounds... After I had my son everything I ate just all added up when before I could eat anything and not gain a pound. I just don't know how to start with food. I love food and never do well with restrictions. So i have seen the diets where you have slimfast twice a day or you eat meal replacement bars... I don't think i would be successful with that. Any suggestions? I know i obviously have to cut cals. to loose weight just don't know how
Old 01-24-2010, 03:48 AM
FitDay Member

Hi there and congratulations on taking the first step towards better health.
Before you start on this journey you should try and get your mind ready. Firstly, consider this a lifestyle change, rather than a "diet". Diets are temporary, and will fail in the long run unless you can wrap your brain around the idea that you are making permanent changes.

Next you should do a little research on the foods you will be eating and how they affect your body, moods, mental state, etc. And take a look at what your current diet is doing to you. I find that being aware of what that can of soda pop is doing to me helps me avoid them - even though I LOVE coca cola.

Meal planning is extremely helpful. You know what you will be eating during the day, so it helps you to not reach out for those "no no" foods.

Some of the rules that I follow are:

No "white" foods. Like white flour, white rice, white pasta, white bread, white sugar and potatoes.
Instead it is whole grain variations...whole wheat pasta, brown rice, whole grain cereal, etc. And these should be eaten in measured amounts.

You can have up to 6 eggs a week, and as many egg whites as you wish. I have a whole grain english muffin with an egg for breakfast fairly often.

Try and keep red meat down to once, maybe twice a week. Instead use chicken, turkey or fish.