Help with BMR and Calorie Intake Pls

Community
Notices

Help with BMR and Calorie Intake Pls

Old 08-28-2010, 08:19 PM
FitDay Member

Default Help with BMR and Calorie Intake Pls

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to FitDay and weight loss in general. I know my BMR is 1275.55 and I have been exercising regularly for the past 2 weeks, and eating healthy. I am currently averaging 900 calories a day, according to FitDay Calorie Balance I should be eating 977calories, do you think this would slow down my metabolisim? I'm worried because I've read elsewhere that if you don't eat enough your body will go into starvation mode.

Any help would be appreciated

TIA
Old 08-28-2010, 10:28 PM
FitDay Member

I do not think it is very healhty to eat only 977 daily.
I personaly would keep it at around 1200 cals.

Try to do more exercise in order to burn calories.

I keep myself below 1800 and manage to keep weight off, slowly but surely

God be with you
Old 08-29-2010, 03:26 PM
FitDay Member

Thanks for your response. Yeah, I thought it was low too. I do at least 40 minutes of cardio a day. So I'll try keeping it betwen 1000-1200 calories a day.

Thanks again
Old 08-29-2010, 11:23 PM
FitDay Member

I don't think anyone can has a definite response to this. A lot of people talk about this "starvation mode" but I'm not so sure it actually happens.
I am supposed to eat around 1900 cal; I try to eat 1000 and I do lose some weight but very slowly, as usual (which would give strength to the "starvation" argument). My boyfriend though is supposed to eat 2700 cal, and eats the same 1000 that I eat and he loses a lot of weight. And we eat the same types of foods and do the same level of exercise (very little).
So I'm not entirely sure. (The muscle loss etc. is another point of discussion, we ar here only discussion if the body does go into a starvation mode which prevents you from losing weight).

But for sure exercising helps to speed up the metabolism.

I'm still trying to find out bottom line.