Notices

What am I doing wrong?

Old 08-12-2010, 02:37 PM
FitDay Member

Unhappy What am I doing wrong?

Hi everyone. I'm new to this. Let me tell you a little about me. I'm female, 28, just had a baby 8 weeks ago. I weighed 173 at delivery and am currently 158-160.
I am finding it almost impossible to lose anymore weight. I have been working out 6 days a week for 40 minutes doing Shaun T's INSANITY workout. It's pretty vigourous cardio/resistance training. I eat between 1500-1800 calories, which is the recommended amount using the formula included in his workout as well as fitday's recommendation. What am I doing wrong?

I have lost some inches, but seem to be at a stall. I have been doing this workout for 4 weeks now (well this monday was the start of my 4th week). I don't physically see anymore changes. I eat usually 50% carbs (no whites), 30%fat and 20% protein, usually around that amount. I eat this percentage because I have a lot of stomach issues (reflux, gastritis) and too much protein upsets my stomach.

Any suggestions?
Old 08-12-2010, 04:19 PM
FitDay Member

Can you give us a little more information? What is your BMR (Base Metabolic Rate), how many calories do you burn exercising and what is your caloric deficit? (BMR + Exercise - Food calories = Caloric deficit). Are you breast feeding?

One reason I ask is that I am a 51 year old male, 5'-11" and approx 225# and my caloric intake goal is 1500-1700 per day. A general rule is to acheive a caloric deficit of 500 to 1000 calories per day. This allows for weight loss of 1 to 2 pounds per week.

If you are already achieving the deficit then perhaps you need to look at the timing of your meals. How many meals and what is your is your intake at each meal? (Posting your food log would also be helpful.)
Old 08-12-2010, 05:26 PM
FitDay Member

It's hard to say much but I can make some educated guesses as to why progress has slowed.