Cycling Calories / ZigZag Calories >

Cycling Calories / ZigZag Calories

Community
Notices

Cycling Calories / ZigZag Calories

Old 06-21-2010, 04:24 AM
FitDay Member

Default Cycling Calories / ZigZag Calories

Has anyone had any success with calorie cycling - where you vary your daily calorie intake as a way to keep your metabolism guessing? I've been gaining and losing the same 5 lbs for the past 3 months now and I've read that cycling calories is a great way to wake up your metabolism.

I consume 1200 calories a day (and approx. 1300 on weekends), I work out with a personal trainer 3 days a week and run 3 days a week (between 2- 4 miles). Yet - the weight is not coming off.

Have any of you had any success with calorie cycling? If so - can you provide me with a breakdown of how many calories you eat per day? One site told me I need to cycle between 1300 and 1600 calories (which seems high to me) - and another site told me I have to cycle between 800, 1100 and 1500) - and 800 seems super low to me.

Just looking for advice from the masses.
Old 06-21-2010, 05:10 AM
FitDay Member

I've been doing the zig-zagging since I started and it seams to work not only for my life style but for my body as well.

I try to stay at about 1100-1200 calories during the week and when I know I can't stay within that range I consider that my "zagging" day. For example, I was good all week at about 1100 calories but Saturday I was at our lake house and consumed about 1600 calories. Then Sunday I consumed about 1400 calories and hopefully the rest of the week I will go back down to about 1100 calories.

I'm not sure if this is what the plan is supposed to be like, but this is what works for me. So far I've lost 23.4 pounds since I began my weight-loss journey on March 30, 2010.
Old 06-21-2010, 05:11 AM
Super Moderator

I've had a lot of success with this.

The site I used to give me the calories and the cycle is this one: