Not sure where to start? >

Not sure where to start?

Community
Notices

Not sure where to start?

Old 06-15-2010, 02:35 AM
FitDay Member

Smile Not sure where to start?

Hi, I just joined this site today in hopes of educating myself to lose weight, but I'm still not too sure where to start!

I'm 5'8" and 155 lbs (more or less, don't have a scale anymore). My mom passed away in October so I've been very inactive and depressed up until a month or two ago, so I'm looking to improve the image I have of myself.

My general plan is to start eating better and lose some weight, as well as tone up. I would also like to start running but am not sure where to start with that, either, i.e what shoes to get, how far to run since I'm a beginner, etc.!

Any advice you have for me will be appreciated Thankyou!

EDIT: I am also hoping to very much lower my body fat %, as the last time I checked (A bit over a year ago) it was at 30%. :|

Last edited by xCarrie; 06-15-2010 at 02:38 AM.
Old 06-15-2010, 02:54 AM
FitDay Member

I'm sorry to hear about your mother, it's always rough to lose a loved one. It's great that you're finally starting to feel better and are ready to start exercising and eating properly!

"Toning up" is a huge myth, you tone up by losing body fat. I would incorporate at least 3 days of weight training into your week, keep it at a minimum of 30-45 minutes a day and go at a high intensity with heavy weights.

For running shoes, you can't really go wrong with New Balance or Asics. I'm sure there are probably other shoes that are cheaper and as good quality but these are very reliable shoes. I got 7 months out of my New Balance before my feet started to hurt again... (flat feet.)

Eat at a 500 or 1000 calorie deficit everyday and you'll lose 1 or 2 lbs a week.

I'm sure I barely hit the surface, so if you'd like anymore information I'm sure others will respond!
Old 06-15-2010, 03:12 AM
FitDay Member

Thanks Seifer