Notices

anyone else with diabetes?

Old 03-07-2012, 09:49 AM

Default anyone else with diabetes?

i'm new to fitday and the forums, looking for women to go through this with. i just found out today that i have diabetes. i have to go to the dr. tomorrow to discuss it. i have made significant changes to my diet this past month, and i think they are all on target for what a diabetic diet calls for, but i really know nothing about the disease. anyone want to give help and advice? also, i had lost several pounds over the past 2-3 weeks, but we went to disneyland with the kids and i fell off the wagon with a very loud thud. what took 3 weeks to lose only took 3 days to gain back. i can def. tell the difference in how i feel, though, and glad to be back on my healthy diet today. any help with diabetes and healthy eating would be welcome. thanks.
~lisa
Old 03-07-2012, 11:01 AM
FitDay Member

Hi Lisa, there's lots of us out here, and the support is here!

IMO, diabetic eating is no different than healthy eating. Try to substitute brown grains for all the white starchy processed grains. White carbs turn to sugar quickly in your body, making your sugar readings go up. Brown grains break down in your body much slower, and help with your levels. This has been the hardest thing for me. Nothing to me is better than a huge piece of warm, buttered white bread! If you can, eat protein with all your meals and snacks, you can find it in nuts, meats, beans, low fat cheeses, greek yogurt. Include Lots of veggies of course. Fruit is good, some fruits have higher sugars in them than others.

No one is perfect. Don't try to be all at once, or you'll get discouraged real fast. I've been fighting my diagnosis for 7 yrs. finally, this year, now on insulin, I've come to realize, if I take good care of myself, diabetes is not a death sentence.