Notices

How do you know how many calories to eat?

Old 03-17-2011, 02:37 AM
FitDay Member

Question How do you know how many calories to eat?

Hello All!

I'm new to the counting calorie game. I've been on numerous "diets" and "lifestyle" changes before, but I'm really going to try to stick with it this time (yep...said that every other time as well). But I figure my youngest just turned 2, and I can't use the "baby weight" excuse anymore!

Anywhoo...so now I'm trying the calorie counting with fitday. But my question is..how do you know how many calories you need to eat in a day to lose weight? I googled it and had SO many different answers.

My goal is to lose 15-20 lbs by June 18 (my 34th birthday) and another 25 lbs by next feburary when my husband and I go on a tropical vacation with another couple.

I'm 5'9" and weigh 216 lbs as of this morning.
Old 03-17-2011, 03:41 AM
FitDay Member

I just started about three weeks ago so I am sure someone with more experience can chime in on this but what I did to start was log...log everything that you eat and everything that you do. Then at the end of the day see if you have done more than you ate. Hope that makes sense! From what I read on here if you burn 500 more calories than you eat every day that would be 3500 calories per week and equal up to 1 lb of fat lost.

Congratulations on the decision towards a healthier you!
Old 03-17-2011, 03:53 AM
FitDay Member

What I did was similar.. For a week, without trying to 'diet', I logged every single thing I ate. The only thing I did do, was (eating the same amount as I always did) would then weigh it to be accurate. You might be surprised how many people think a cereal bowl full of cereal is one serving. Fact is, one serving is less than a tea cup full.

So, after a week you have a good idea of where you are starting from calorie wise.