Notices

Plateau... Ughh!

Old 10-22-2010, 05:55 AM
FitDay Member

Default Plateau... Ughh!

I have been working my but off for the past seven months, and this last 15 pounds does NOT seem to want to budge.

I've tried the zig-zagging approach

I've tried changing up my routine from elliptical, to treadmill, to stair-master, to bike and using intervals.

I'm watching my calories and nutrition.

I started weight lifting at home as well.

I'm trying not to get discouraged, but I'm so close!!!

Any tips or tricks ladies? Tomorrow morning I'm going to try a spinning class or a Piyo class at the gym.
Old 10-22-2010, 09:05 AM
FitDay Member

I am not sure but if it is located in your belly, you might want to try some ab crunches or sit ups.. anything to target the abs. If it is spread out.. I really dont know what to tell you other than if you keep doing what you are, the plateau eventually does give way.
Old 10-22-2010, 09:26 AM
FitDay Member

Keep up the great work!

One suggestion... If you've been tracking your food intake, go back to a week when your weight loss was successful, and try to replicate that (what you ate and generally your exercise).

Good to have your own personal meal plans for success, handy in your ‘back-pocket’.
Old 10-22-2010, 09:40 AM
Super Moderator

Be patient; wait it out. This could be your body's way of resetting itself and regrouping. You are doing everything right, and it's not unusual to see a couple, three-week plateau, especially as you get close to the end. The closer you are, the harder it is; stinks, but it's true. Keep pounding away at the weight training. The more muscle you build, the more your metabolism kicks into gear. Drink a lot of water, make sure you're getting your fiber, eat as clean as you can. Put the scale away for a week or two and see what happens; I truly believe that the more you stress over it, the more likely you are to hang onto pounds.