FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   Support group for just women (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/support-group-just-women/)
-   -   Grrrrr!!! Metabolism is so not fair! (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/support-group-just-women/2039-grrrrr-metabolism-so-not-fair.html)

darkestfaerie993 09-22-2010 02:29 PM

Grrrrr!!! Metabolism is so not fair!

I still attend high school and it is so totally not fair when I see these other girls go through line and they are able to eat pizza, pudding, chocolate milk, and cake all in one sitting and they never gain a single puond. how do they do it and how can I boost my metabolism?:confused: thanks!

NNEM 09-22-2010 03:13 PM

Have you looked at the Zone way of eating?

I am by no means an expert on this subject! I am, however, a big fan of the Zone Diet. It suggests that whenever you eat, 40% of your calories should be from good carbs (fruit/veges/whole grains not candy), 30% from good protein sources, and 30% from fats. There are many benefits to eating this combo: first, it's amazing how much you can actually eat when you eat healthy foods (I could barely finish my breakfast this morning!); second, you stay full for a long time; and three, it boosts your metabolism.

I wish you all the best!

tammcclure 09-22-2010 04:13 PM

I have been overweight my whole life, including high school until I went on a crash diet and lost a lot of weight. I gained it all back by the end of my freshman year of college and continued to gain to what I am now.

My metabolism was shot.

I just started a weight loss program monitored by a nutritionist that my doctor sent me to after having multiple blood clots. She told me that to increase your metabolism you need to not eat too little.