Notices

New Member -- Just starting out

Old 09-13-2010, 04:11 PM
FitDay Member

Smile New Member -- Just starting out

As the title says I am a newbie here. I thought I would provide background and information on me to see if anyone else out there has my same issues. Mainly blood clots/fibromyalgia and arthrtis/psoriatic arthritis.

A little background on me...I have always struggled with my weight even as a child. I managed to lose weight in my teens but gained quickly after college/marriage.

I was 225 pounds when I got pregnant 3 years into my marriage (15 years ago now) and developed pre-elampsia/HELP Syndrome and had my son prematurely.

After my c-section I landed up back in the hospital twice for blood clots and after spending almost a full 2 months in the hospital and childbirth I was 285 pounds. I was very run down and sick after that all the time and the weight started adding up.

Eight years ago I was diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis and fibromyalgia. Activity levels continued to go on a downward spiral and in the last 15 years I gained much more weight.

I am now a whopping 358 pounds on a 5 foot 6 frame.

Since February 2010 I've been sick ALL the time. Bronchitis, sinus infections that will not go away and then I started what I thought was falling asleep at random times. Driving...while in midsentence talking even...and worst of all even "nodding off" at my desk at work AND being caught at it. You'd think I'd say driving but honestly I NEED my job and LOVE it too so nodding off at work and being talked to by my boss was a HUGE deal and scared me badly.

I thought I maybe had sleep apnea and so did my boss. Then before I could get in to talk to my doctor about a sleep test, my right arm began to hurt badly and swell.