Notices

One more question Should we eat more fat or more protein

Old 08-14-2010, 04:24 AM
FitDay Member

Default One more question Should we eat more fat or more protein

Just trying to get this right.......thanks.
Old 08-14-2010, 04:31 AM
FitDay Member

I'm no expert, and I would think it depends on your individual needs/goals, but fat (even good fats) should be limited.

There are many people here that have knowledgeable advice to share about diet & nutrition, hopefully they'll respond with a more detailed answer for you. =)
Old 08-14-2010, 04:55 AM
FitDay Member

Thanks. Somehow I seem to eat more fat than protein and don't want too.

Like avacodas have more fat than protein?
Old 08-14-2010, 05:08 AM
FitDay Member

I don't eat much avocado, so I'm not certain . I did find this link that has some information that might help. There is a lot of information on the Net -- probably not all of it accurate -- but do a google search and you'll probably get some good results!

WikiAnswers - How many grams of fat should you eat per day

http://nutrition.about.com/od/askyou...at_protein.htm

Last edited by smooshmcsmeesh; 08-14-2010 at 05:13 AM.
Old 08-14-2010, 06:38 AM
FitDay Member

Getting fats from healthy foods (like avocados) isn't exactly a bad thing. But at the same time, I would think you'll need to eat less of those fattier healthy foods and go for others. So have avocados, nuts, and peanut butter sometimes, but maybe not all in the same day.

You might also want to try lowering fat and upping your protein intake just to see how your body responds. Everyone is different so try different things and see how you respond.

I personally like the way I feel when my diet consists of a protein/carb/fat ratio of 40/40/20; meaning I get roughly 40 percent of my food from protein and 40 from carbs and about 20 from fats. Use the pie chart feature at the bottom of the food log to figure out where your ratios are at and then move the numbers around until you feel good.