Notices

Menopause

Old 07-19-2010, 12:40 AM
FitDay Member

Default Menopause

Anyone dealing with menopause, specifically hot flashes? I try to limit my caffeine intake but struggle with that. Sleep quality is not that great and I am exhausted by the end of the work day.

Am following Paleo plus dairy diet and do Cross Fit workouts 4 X week early in the a.m. I feel really great when I stick to Paleo but when the PMS type cravings hit I struggle with sugar and bread.
Old 07-19-2010, 02:54 AM
FitDay Member

Ah, a kindred spirit. I am just getting started with the joys of menopause
As far as the sleep issue is concerned I finally went to my Dr. I was waking in the middle of the night in a full on panic attack and that was if I was able to fall asleep in the first place! I now take one Ambien and one xanax, both very low dose, And I sleep for 6 or 7 hours and wake up feeling like I actually did sleep. It has been a God send! You won't believe how much better you'll be able to function and lose weight if you're sleeping well.

What is the Paleo plus dairy diet? never heard of it. Good luck
Old 07-20-2010, 01:47 AM
FitDay Member

Hi and thanks for the response. I see my MD in October for my annual and will probably ask for something like you suggest at that appointment if things don't improve alot. I've been trying to deal with the night sweats and hot flashes with supplements and even had some success with black cohosh but it has stopped giving me as much relief. The past coupld of years my MD has told me to cut back on the caffeine as I appear to be sensitive to it I guess. I only have two cups in the a.m. before work and try to limit it the rest of the day. I just can't seem to give it up completely. Decaf is a choice I could make I guess.

Anywho, thanks again for the ideas. One thing I have found at Bath and Body works is a cooling spray. Avon also has a gel moisturizer that cools the skin. Those things work ok for a bit at cooling me off.
Old 07-22-2010, 05:45 AM