Notices

Need help overcoming a plateau

Old 07-10-2012, 01:17 AM
FitDay Member

Question Need help overcoming a plateau

Hi all, I need some advice getting over a plateau, it's been a month and I haven't lost a single pound. I tried varying my workouts, increasing intensity and am really watching the calorie intake but nothing seems to work. Maybe I should just stop working out for a while and just concentrate on nutrition? I dunno? I'm kicking ass in the gym but I'm not losing. I'm 20 pounds from my goal weight.
Old 07-10-2012, 02:25 AM
FitDay Member

This might sound weird but are you eating enough? Also are you sleeping enough?
Old 07-10-2012, 03:24 AM
FitDay Member

Default Eating enough?

Hmmmmm well I'm 37, 5'5" and 196 lbs
I've been at 1500 calories on average for the last few weeks
And that's after I subtract calories burned from my workouts
Do you think that's too low?
Old 07-10-2012, 03:28 AM
FitDay Member

I am no expert on how much one person needs. But you could always try to bump it up about 200 calories per day for a week and then go back to where you are and see if that helps it start moving again. I'm sure someone else will come along with a more experienced answer.

Oh and Woops! I didn't take notice this was in the men's section! Sorry.
Old 07-10-2012, 07:03 AM
FitDay Member

April, you can be in the mens section anytime! You always give good advice.

I am wondering what jaymagblue's Protein intake is like? I believe it should be near 1 gram per pound of lean body weight, especially if you are working out. (If you are 196 lbs with 20% body fat then your lean body weight is apprx 157 and that is how many grams of protein you should be aiming for.) That 200 calories a day increase that April suggested could be a protein shake made with milk once a day.
Old 07-10-2012, 07:17 AM
FitDay Member

I'll try the protein shake idea ..... Do I make that myself or can I get that at the supermarket?
Old 07-11-2012, 07:40 AM
FitDay Member