Notices

Gym Troubles

Old 03-12-2010, 12:39 PM
FitDay Member

Maybe you should check out "Turbulence Training"(.com). I've been using this program for a couple months and I think it's pretty good. I (like you) don't have a lot of time for the gym, but with these programs- you don't even need to go to the gym. A lot of simplified routines ranging from body weight workouts to workout requiring nothing more than a simple set of dumbells and an excercise ball. Much cheaper than a personal trainer. Good Luck!
Old 03-13-2010, 04:51 AM
FitDay Member

Hey Lysady,

Sounds like you pretty new to lifting so start slow. This is a long journey and not a quick fix. The first thing I would recommend is to learn the proper way to lift. It sounds like the trainers at your gym probably would not be as helpful as one might hope so I recommend the book “Starting Strength” by Mark Rippetoe and Lon Kilgore (they also have a great wiki page). These guys know what they are talking about. Master the 5 or so excises they recommend.

Do you only have time to workout 1-2 times per week or only have time to go to the gym 1-2 times? Either way my advice is lift heavy (again after learning how to lift) 1 time per week and do high intensity work 1-2x per week.

Again start slow – heavy and high intensity are both relative terms.

I am not a believer in cardio more than 20 minutes, or at least consistently more than 20 minutes. There are some great workouts (bodyweight etc) that you can do in 20 minutes or less (look up “tabata”).

Pushups, dips, pull-ups, body weight squats, sprints (highly recommend), throwing my child in the air are all exercises that do wonders and can be done at home and involve family. For example do as many pushups, sit-ups and squats that you can in 10 minutes. Add and subtract exercises, duration and resistance (weight) each week. Variation is key.

Quality (eating and exercise) is more important than quantity.

Hope this helps.
Old 03-13-2010, 09:52 AM
FitDay Member