Notices

Intro and Survey - Daily Caloric Intake - Men

Old 11-15-2011, 12:39 PM
FitDay Member

Default Intro and Survey - Daily Caloric Intake - Men

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum here, but have been using FD for many years. I'm 46, 5' 9", and 264 lbs. Sorry for the long post here, but I wanted to introduce myself, my background, and collect your thoughts on caloric intake.

Unfortunately, I've yo-yo'd my whole life between being in body-builder shape, and being 50-80 lbs. overweight. I started studying nutrition and dieting at 11 years old. I've cycled maybe 5 times like that in my adult life, with the last dip being just 2 years ago down to 203 lbs, and about 15% bodyfat. My sin is Scotch, love it, but it kills my plans, plain and simple.

in '09, I dropped 64 lbs. in 5 months by stopping all alcohol, doing an hour of cardio every morning, eating 1700 calories a day, and entering data in FD religiously. I had a surgery later that year, fell off the workout and alcohol wagon for a bit, and gained the weight back with a vengeance.

I knew from previous readings that my caloric intake was probably to low, but I did it anyway. I have a pretty high lean body mass from weight lifting and backpacking my whole life, but I was anxious to lose weight quickly, so I ignored my better judgement. I'm starting over now, and have resolved to do a better job of not knocking my metabolism down (and also keeping protein intake up). I've read up on several sources, and they all pretty much say that with my stats and program I shouldn't be going below about 2400 calories a day. I know this to be true as well from much experience, if I don't want to knock down my metabolism, lose muscle, and then regain the weight quickly.

So finally to the survey. I do see many new posters here, who are also new to diet tracking saying they are eating 1200-1500 calories a day, and this concerns me. Personally, I think that's a formula for rebound and muscle loss, but I'm open to your thoughts.