Notices

New to fitday and thoughts about motivation

Old 11-10-2011, 01:59 AM
FitDay Member

Default New to fitday and thoughts about motivation

Hey guys,

I'm new to fitday and trying to lose my remaining weight. I was at 324 when I started on Monday and currently weigh 315 while doing approximately 1700 calorie days. (I'm fairly certain this is water weight mainly.) I was 435 at my heaviest and had gastric bypass surgery in August of 2009, helping me lose about 140lbs. This halted when I had to get a second job to pay hospital bills back last year and didn't keep up with the lifestyle. I've been able to keep most of the weight that I lost off, but have gained about 30lbs back in the last year and can eat pretty much what I ate before. (Just to make it clear there's no blame here but for myself. It was a privilege to be able to have that surgery and lost the weight that I have and I recognize my choices have led me not to follow as I could have.)

I'm liking fitday because of the goal weight vs. calories consumed thing, but see myself adding calaries as I progress. How have people kept from doing the "Oh 100 more today won't hurt." which turns in to "500 more once in a while is fine." which then leads to not tracking anymore because I don't want the "system" to tell me what to do. (Perhaps I know myself better than I thought.) Not sure if anyone has had that problem, but if you have, how have you kept from psyching yourself out?

Of course like any other weight loss, it's up to me to stick to the goals. Just wondering if anyone had tricks or something they use when our overeating addicted minds start to exert their force.

Also will accept "Suck it up" and "Just do it and don't make lame excuses, whiny baby." as an answer.

Shawn
(I see a lot of people have their stats included at the bottom of their names, including weight loss with dates. Is this something that can automatically be generated by fitday or are they just signatures you update?)